Foster Heart Header

At any given time, there are 130+ children in foster care in Brunswick County because their own families are in crisis and are unable to provide for their essential well-being.

They come from many different backgrounds, but they have the same hopes, dreams, fears, and needs as any child!

Foster/Adoptive Parent 30-hour TIPS-MAPP training is scheduled as follows:

MEETINGS DAY DATE TIME LOCATION
1. Welcome to the TIPS-MAPP Group Preparation and Selection Program Thursday 6/7/18 6-9 pm Brunswick County DSS
2. Where the MAPP Leads: A Foster Care & Adoption Experience Thursday 6/14/18 6-9pm Brunswick County DSS
3. Losses & Gains: The Need to be a Loss Expert Thursday 6/21/18 6-9pm Brunswick County DSS
4. Helping Children with Attachments Thursday 6/28/18 6-9pm Brunswick County DSS
5. Helping Children Learn Healthy Behaviors Thursday 7/5/18 6-9pm Brunswick County DSS
6. Helping Children with Birth Family Connections Thursday 7/12/18 6-9pm Brunswick County DSS
7. Gains & Losses: Helping Children Leave Foster Care Thursday 7/19/18 6-9pm Brunswick County DSS
8. Understanding the Impact of Fostering or Adopting Thursday 7/26/18 6-9pm Brunswick County DSS
9. Perspectives in Adoptive & Foster Parenting-Teamwork & Partnership Thursday 8/2/18 6-9pm Brunswick County DSS
10. Endings & Beginnings Thursday 8/9/18 6-9pm Brunswick County DSS

Brunswick County Health and Human Services

Department of Social Services

To Register for TIPS-MAPP training contact:

Tamela Jones at 910-253-2112 or tamela.jones@brunswickcountync.gov